Crisis Text Line

Board & Advisors

Meet the Board of Directors and Advisory Boards that guide Crisis Text Line's work.


Board of Directors

Ada Williams Prince
Pivotal Ventures, Executive Office of Melinda Gates

danah boyd, Ph.D.
Microsoft Research

David Drummond

Dena Trujillo
Omidyar Network

DJ Patil
Former Chief Data Scientist of U.S.


Elizabeth Cutler
Founder, SoulCycle

Harry Brandler
Greenlight Capital

Jeff Lawson

Nancy Lublin
Crisis Text Line

Rob Stavis
Bessemer Venture Partners

Steve Buffone


Advisory Board

Adam Kaplin
Johns Hopkins Medicine, Mood24/

Alan Green, Ph.D.
USC’s Rossier School of Education

Alison K. Malmon
Active Minds

Anthony R. Pisani, Ph.D.
University of Rochester Center for the Study and Prevention of Suicide

April Foreman, Ph.D.
Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System

April Naturale, Ph.D.
ICF International

Brian Pinero
National Domestic Violence Hotline

Claire Mysko
National Eating Disorders Association

Christine Moutier, M.D.
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Dan Reidenberg, Psy.D.

Deb Levine

Eric F. van Furth, Ph.D, FAED
Leiden University Medical Center

Dr. Greg Dillon
Lower Fifth Psychiatric

Ginny Gohr
Boys Town National Hotline

Heather Rae, MA, LLP
Common Ground

Jamie Tworkowski
To Write Love on Her Arms


Jason Rzepka
Everytown for Gun Safety

Jeffrey Struchtemeyer
National Domestic Violence Hotline

Jenn Sturm
Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice

Jennifer Di Nicola
National Runaway Safeline

Jennifer Marsh
Victim Services, Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

Jerry Weichman, Ph.D.
The Weichman Clinic at Hoag Neurosciences Institute

John Austin, Jr.

John MacPhee
The Jed Foundation

Kelly Posner
Founder and Director, Columbia Lighthouse Project

Madelyn Gould, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Columbia University Medical Center

Manon DeFelice

Dr. Michael Cheng
Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Michael Spath
9-1-1, Sunnyvale, CA

Robin Stern, Ph.D.
Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence

Stephen Mongeau
Samaritans, Inc.

Dr. Thomas Joiner
Florida State University


Bay Area Advisory Board

Alyse Tognotti
Speck Products

Dan Kingsley
SKS Partners

Doug Mandell
General Counsel

Kevin Briggs
Pivotal Points


Margaret Hines

Mimi Kingsley
Philanthropist + Community Volunteer

Pamela Weiss
Crisis Counselor + Community Activist

Sarah Granger
The Digital Mystique Author


Data Ethics Committee

Brian Pascal, JD.
Fellow, Center for Internet and Society, Stanford Law School

David Rousseau, MPH.
Vice President and Executive Director of Health Policy Media and Technology, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Dominic Sisti, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy; Assistant Professor of Psychiatry; Director, The Scattergood Program for Applied Ethics of Behavioral Health Care, the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

Jeremy N. Block, PhD, MPP.
Assistant Professor of Population Health Science and Policy; IRB Chair, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; Scholar, Healthcare Innovation Technology Laboratory (HITLAB)

John E. Marcotte, PhD.
Director, Data Sharing for Demographic Research & Data Security Officer, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), University of Michigan

John Wilbanks
Chief Commons Officer, Sage Bionetworks; Senior Fellow, FasterCures

Lisa Lehmann, MD, PhD, MSc.
Executive Director, National Center for Ethics in Health Care, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; Associate Professor of Medicine and Medical Ethics, Harvard Medical School; Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard T.H.Chan School of Public Health

Lucy Bernholz, PhD.
Senior Research Scholar, Digital Civil Society Lab, Stanford University; Visiting Scholar, Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society, Stanford University


Megan L. Ranney, MD, MPH.
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Assistant Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice, Brown University; Director, Brown Emergency Digital Health Innovation program

Rebecca Weintraub Brendel, MD, JD.
Clinical Director at the Red Sox Foundation and Massachusetts General Hospital Home Base Program; Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

Robert J. Levine, MD.
Professor of Medicine, Yale School of Medicine; Senior Research Scholar and Chair: Executive Committee, Interdisciplinary Center for Bioethics, Yale University

Sandra Soo-Jin Lee, PhD.
Senior Research Scholar, Pediatrics, Center for Biomedical Ethics, Stanford School of Medicine; Faculty, Program in Science, Technology and Society, Stanford University

Shalon M. Irving, PhD, MPH, CHES.
Epidemic Intelligence Service (EIS) Officer, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Shirley Yen, PhD.
Associate Professor (Research), Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Alpert Brown Medical School

Stephanie Alessi Kraft, JD.
Senior Fellow, Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics, Seattle Children’s Research Institute